User - 3. How to delete sensitive data with DataMapper
When you're in the process of cleaning up the scanned files in DataMapper, it also makes sense to get them fully deleted. Follow the simple steps below and get started with deletion now.
As of August 1, 2025 you can also delete documents scanned in OneDrive & Sharepoint using DataMapper. Below you can see how to activate the delete function for each of the locations.
Haven't scanned Sharepoint & OneDrive? Then you can simply skip these steps or reach out to our team, who can help you set it up.
It only takes XXX steps to delete documents with sensitive data
- Step 1: Log into DataMapper and click on Data locations
- Step 2: Activate the delete function
- Step 3: Select a file and click the "delete" button
Step 1: Log into DataMapper and click on Data locations
Open DataMapper and log in with your credentials. Then go to Data locations.

Step 2: Activate the delete function
For the "Delete" function to be unlocked for you, you just need to click Settings next to each of the locations where you want the function active, see below:
By clicking the Settings button, you'll get a pop-up window as shown below. There you need to check the box for "Delete files" to unlock the functionality. Then click Save changes.
*if you can't proceed with saving changes or don't get Delete unlocked, just reach out to your administrator/IT.

For OneDrive/Sharepoint you need to repeat the same steps as with Outlook.
*Delete function for Sharepoint sites
Sharepoint is a little different from Outlook and OneDrive, since those are often personal accounts, whereas sites are shared sites that can be accessed. Therefore, deletion needs to be activated on each site that has been scanned in DataMapper and possibly delegated to the user (you can read about this in our guide to Sharepoint). Example: if you have 3 Sharepoint sites available in your overview in Data locations, you need to click on each of them to activate the delete files function.
Once that's activated, you can continue to the risk documents page and delete.
Step 3: Select a file and click the "delete" button
Click on Risk Documents in the side menu. Below you can see what your risk documents overview could look like.

Click on a file in the risk documents overview and try the Delete button.

Example: We've clicked on the top file in the row, now we can see a fuction Delete, indicating that we can now delete the file. You'll see this for each of the files you have access to.
When you click on Delete or Delete all - depending on whether there are multiple files attached in one email) - you'll get this pop-up message.

You get two options here: Go to the document and its source (this opens Outlook and the actual email containing the files) and if you click Delete all - you delete the file directly - also from its source in Outlook (or OneDrive or Sharepoint)
This is how you can continue your cleanup with all the files that have been found belonging to Outlook, OneDrive or Sharepoint.
At the top, under the Deleted menu, you can keep track of how much you delete until the overview updates at the next sync 24 hours later.
⁉️ Where do the deleted files end up, if I accidentally deleted one I wasn't ready to?
Your files/emails are permanently deleted - they don't end up in the Deleted Items folder that you know from Outlook. Instead, they're placed in a "recoverable items folder" that only your email administrator has access to - for a maximum of 30 days after the file is deleted. After that, it's permanently deleted.
You can read more about the recoverable items folder in the link here and how you or your administrator can potentially get access to it.
This only applies to Outlook, though. OneDrive has a log within OneDrive itself where you can see how much you delete, but it's unclear whether the files can then be retrieved. Sharepoint doesn't have the same options.
Do you have more questions? Then you can write to us via the chat in DataMapper or send us an email support@safeonline.dk 😊